Book Review: The Rent Collector

The Rent Collector by Camron Wright

20140911-110856-40136443.jpg

I read this book as part of my monthly book club. Here are the stats:

  • Cost- $15.99
  • Category- Fiction
  • Page Count- 271
  • Star Rating- 3.5 stars out of 5
  • Recommend to a friend- Yes

Synopsis: This book takes place in Cambodia current day and follows the story of a young family who lives in a dump with an infant son who is sick. They collect trash for income to pay the rent for the shack they live in. It is a story of hope, persistence and is a charming one.

Things I like: It was a real eye-opener to a situation I was unaware of. There were several relationships that had interesting dynamics which I enjoyed reading about. And overall, it was a an easy, fast read. I would recommend this to a friend, just to bring this issue to another person, like myself, who maybe unaware.

Things I didn’t like: This is a fiction novel but is based on a documentary the author’s son produced. This rubbed me the wrong way, because it blurred the lines between what was real and what was fiction. I also think the author lacked a true knowledge of the area and health issues. While it was well written, it did lack a sense of depth to their story and situation.

Remember if you are interested in purchasing this book, support your local book store and #shoplocal!

Leave a Reply

