The trouble with multitasking.

“I’m a woman, I was born to be a multitasker!”

I just quoted myself. This is one my infamous feminist comments.

  • I say this, while I’m cooking dinner for my family while at the same time packing their lunches for tomorrow.
  • When I read my son a book, while changing my daughter’s diaper at the same time.
  • When chatting with my boss while driving my kids to daycare.
  • While listening to my husband about his day while browsing Facebook.
  • When a co-worker comes into my office to chat and I check emails while she’s there.

Sound familiar? And that was my short list. I took so much pride in the fact that I was a woman and can, indeed, do it all. And yes, I do believe, we women can do it all. But lately, I’ve been wondering if multi-tasking isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. Maybe it’s adding to my never-ending feeling of exhaustion. Maybe it’s the reason I feel like my brain can’t slow down. Possibly the reason I feel disconnected from human beings while being in the same room as them.

While reading Arriana Huffington’s new book Thrive it confirmed what I’ve been feeling. In the foreword to her book she speaks of multi-tasking and how her mother scolded her for talking to her children while reading her emails:

‘I abhor multitasking,’ she said, in a Green accent that puts mine to shame. In other words, being connected in a shallow way to the entire world can prevent us from being deeply connected to those closest to us- including ourselves.

{Insert wide-eye emoji here} Err, I was just trying to knock off several things off my to-do list in a short amount of time! What’s so wrong with that?

Maybe it could be my list. What things are more important than the others? Which things require more attention? Maybe my drive to school with my kids- couldn’t I be more involved in the situation? The alone time with my spouse once the kids are in bed? How about that quiet time while I pack lunches? This could be a zen moment spent with sandwich bags, a cup of tea and Nutella sandwiches. Instead of looking at this as a time to get more done, maybe it’s a time to slow down and savor the moment.

This life is a gift. It’s not a race. Let’s all slow down and take our time. 

#9to5shuffle

 

Leave a Reply

