Book Review: This is Where I Leave You

This is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Trooper

 thisiswhereileaveyou

  • Cost- $16.00
  • Category- Fiction
  • Page Count- 339
  • Star Rating- 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • Recommend to a friend- Maybe

Synopsis: The father of four adult children passes away and his last wish is for his family to sit shiva together, which is basically the Jewish version of a week long viewing. This means the whole family stays under the same roof for seven whole days, which is when the entire book takes place. You travel with each quirky character as they deal with their own personal issues, family dilemmas all while also grieving for the lose of their father.

Things I liked: If you were a fan of the show Arrested Development, you will love this book. You can’t read this book with a serious mind frame. It’s dry and sarcastic. My girlfriend read with a serious tone and did not find it as humorous as I did. I really enjoyed all the characters especially, the mother with her boob job, short skirts and the openness she has with her children about sex. If you think you have a crazy family, meet the Foxman clan and you’ll realize things could be worse.

Things I didn’t like: Clearly this book was written by a man. The tone is different throughout the entire book during sex scenes and how the characters describe women, love and lust. It is abundantly clear when the author dedicates an entire page to describing how it feels to be kicked in the testicles. Basically ladies, it hurts.

Disclaimer: I’m not a fan of books that become movies, I read this as part of my monthly book club and I probably won’t see the movie. Although, it would be date night movie, because the man in your life would enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

