Book Review: Dreaming in English

Dreaming in English by Laura Fitzgerald
dreaminginenglish
  • Cost- $16.00
  • Category- Fiction
  • Page Count- 432
  • Star Rating- 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • Recommend to a friend- YES!

Synopsis: This book is a sequel to Veil of Roses you can read my review here.  Author Laura Fitzgerald states that she didn’t intend Veil of Roses to have a sequel but due to an outpouring request from fans of the book wanting to know more about Tami’s journey. Fitzgerald even dedicates this book to her readers- very thoughtful. Here’s the thing- sequels are tricky. I was so excited to read this book that when it flashed back to the original book, I skimmed those parts- but they are necessary. I was ready for the meat of the story! The first book ends with Tami succeeding in getting married before her three-month tourist visa expires. This book follows her journey to receive full citizenship with her new husband so she doesn’t end up back in Iran.

Things I liked: The twist and turns in this book are wonderful. They are realistic and keep you reading on the edge of your seat. As a reader you want so badly for Tami to have an easy life, but it’s anything but. Her struggles are real and she deals with them with such class, optimism and passion. She is a great female role model!

Things I didn’t like: Like I mentioned before, I was a little bored during the recaps, but that was probably because I read both books back-to-back. If the time gap was larger, they would be mindful refresher. That’s honestly my only minor dislike.

After reading these two books, they have become my all time favorite books. And Fitzgerald is now one of my favorite authors!

Leave a Reply

